Stoneheart Trilogy by Charlie Fletcher

Stoneheart Charlie FletcherRecently, I’ve been re-listening to The Stoneheart Trilogy by Charlie Fletcher. This series is one of my favorites because it deals with fear, abandonment, anger, loneliness, guilt, and self-confidence. The series itself is fiction and is intended purely for entertainment, but the manner in which these issues are melded into and addressed in the story leaves the reader feeling hopeful and encouraged.

The series, probably geared towards young teens on up, is set in London in a world where statutes and gargoyles come to life. Only certain people, however, can see these “living statutes” and George, the main character, sees the living statues only after breaking one of them in anger. This launches him on a journey where he has to make choices – to take the easy way or the hard way; a journey where he must face his fears; and a journey where he comes to grips with his dad’s death.

Along his journey, George meets Edie, a tough young girl who has grown up relying solely on her wits and her instinct in order to survive. This story is as much about Edie as it is George. Due to her tumultuous past, Edie is quick-tempered and struggles to maintain her visage of control on her life, not allowing herself to appear vulnerable. Nonetheless, throughout her journey with George, Edie is exposed to situations that lead her to deal with her feelings of abandonment, anger, and loss.

If you are looking for an entertaining, uplifting pleasure book, The Stoneheart Trilogy by Charlie Fletcher is one worth reading.

One thought on “Stoneheart Trilogy by Charlie Fletcher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.